The operation of the energy system and related energy markets is governed by a range of State and Territory legislation, including a national set of energy laws and rules and jurisdictional legislation, as well as guidelines, standards, and procedures.

Overview of regulatory instruments

Area of governance Statute Regulations Rules
Electricity National Electricity Law (NEL) National Electricity (South Australia) Regulations National Electricity Rules
Gas National Gas Law (NGL) National Gas (South Australia) Regulations National Gas Rules
Retail National Energy Retail Law (NERL) National Energy Retail Regulations National Energy Retail Rules

Energy legislation

There are three overarching laws which are relevant to the national regulation of energy markets the:

In this section you can find information about:

Energy Objectives

All of the AEMC’s work must have regard to legislated national energy objectives:


There are a number of bodies that are responsible for energy in Australia.

Under the governance structure created by the former Council of Australia the three market bodies the:

oversee the nation’s energy market and report to the Energy Ministers’ Meeting. Most recently, the Energy Security Board has taken a role in coordinating some activities of the three market bodies in order to implement recommendations of the Finkel Review.

Several other bodies including:

have roles in the energy sector.

AEMC has memoranda of understanding with many of the bodies under which information is shared between the AEMC and these bodies

Energy rules

The AEMC administrates the National Energy Rules for each set of relevant energy market arrangements:

The AEMC also produces resources for stakeholders who regularly work within the framework of the energy rules.

Guidelines, standards and settings

The AEMC, and under its authority, the Reliability Panel, have obligations under the National Electricity Rules to make guidelines, standards and settings which facilitate the operation of the energy system.