The Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC) today announced appointments to the Reliability Panel which is established by the Commission to provide it with advice on the safety, security and reliability of the national electricity system.

Chairman of the Reliability Panel and AEMC Commissioner, Ian Woodward, welcomed new and returning members to the Panel who are involved in electricity generation, transmission, distribution and retailing as well as customer representatives.

“A healthy, reliable national electricity system is of critical importance to all Australians and the members of this Panel provide the Commission with expert views on the safe, secure and reliable operation of the national electricity power system,” Mr Woodward said.

The new Reliability Panel consists of the following members. With the exception of Ian Woodward, Chairman, and Les Hosking, NEMMCO’s representative, members will serve a two year term from 1 January 2006.

Ian Woodward, Chairman and AEMC Commissioner Jeff Dimery, General Manager Victoria, AGL Mark Grenning, General Manager Energy, Comalco Aluminium Les Hosking, Managing Director and CEO, NEMMCO Gordon Jardine, Chief Executive, Powerlink George Maltabarow, Managing Director, EnergyAustralia Stephen Orr, Commercial Director, International Power Australia Jim Wellsmore, Senior Policy Officer, Public Interest Advocacy Centre Geoff Willis, CEO, HydroTasmania.

For information contact
AEMC Public Affairs, Prue Anderson (02) 8296 7800 or 0404 821 935