Registered Market Customers are encouraged to submit their nominations for a new member to represent their Registered Participant Class on the Australian Energy Market Commission’s Reliability Panel. 

The Reliability Panel is responsible for monitoring, reviewing and reporting on the safety, security and reliability of the national electricity system, and for setting a number of technical standards and guidelines in line with the National Electricity Rules. 

A range of market participants form the Panel’s membership, including consumer groups, generators, network businesses, developers of new technology, retailers and the Australian Energy Market Operator.  

The Panel is chaired by AEMC Commissioner Charles Popple, and the current representative or member for Market Customers is Keith Robertson, from Origin Energy Limited. Mr Robertson’s term will expire on the 31 December 2022. 

Mr Robertson remains eligible for nomination for this role for a second term, however market participants are also able to submit nominations for a new representative to fulfil the Market Customers membership position.  

A Market Customer representative will be appointed for a term of three years, commencing in early 2023. Submissions for nominations will close 5pm AEDT, 2 November 2022. 

The AEMC is required under the National Electricity Rules (under clause 8.8.2) to appoint a Market Customer representative that has the support of at least one third of registered Market Customers.  

Market Customers have been directly notified of the opportunity to submit a nomination and Registered Market Customers will be asked to vote on proposed candidates. 

To find out more, please contact Victoria Mollard, Executive General Manager – Economics and System Security (02) 8296 7872 or or visit our Reliability Panel page.