The Chair of the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC), Anna Collyer, has today announced the appointments of Ms Sally McMahon and Mr Tim Jordan as the new Commissioners of the independent rule-making market body.

The appointments were made following an open-merit-based selection process and will commence on 10 October 2022, for five-year terms.

“It is with great pleasure that I announce Ms McMahon and Mr Jordan as having been charged with executing the energy rule-making and advisory responsibilities of the AEMC,” Ms Collyer said.

“I’m confident they will bring their broad expertise and experience to these important roles, as we work collaboratively and proactively in the long-term interests of consumers to ensure an affordable, reliable and safe energy system as we transition to net zero.”

Sally McMahon is a well-respected and highly experienced energy sector professional who comes to the AEMC as an economist with more than 25 years’ experience in energy and industry reform programs.

“As someone who has focussed their career on navigating the intersection between regulatory, commercial, practical and theoretical concepts to improve the way markets work, I couldn’t think of a more exciting time to join the AEMC. It is a critical time to be working in the energy sector and I’m very much looking forward to getting started,” Ms McMahon said.

Tim Jordan brings extensive experience in energy policy and economic regulation to his role as AEMC Commissioner, having worked across corporate strategy, clean energy investment and public policy.

“I’m delighted to be taking on this important new role at a time of such significant change. I’m looking forward to helping the AEMC deliver work that facilitates this transition by reforming the rules so that markets, and consumers, can make the most of new technologies that achieve our net zero objectives,” Mr Jordan said.

Anna Collyer said, “On behalf of the current Commissioners, our Chief Executive Benn Barr and the AEMC staff, I’d like to congratulate Sally McMahon and Tim Jordan on their appointments and welcome them to the Commission.”

Ms McMahon and Mr Jordan will join Anna Collyer, Charles Popple and Michelle Shepherd to take the total number of Commissioners at the AEMC to five.

Mr Charles Popple today announced his tenure as an AEMC Commissioner has been extended from February 2023, for a further 16 months.


Media enquiries: Jessica Rich | 0459 918 964 |


Sally McMahon

Sally McMahon is an economist with more than 25 years’ experience in energy and industry reform programs. Commencing her career investigating third-party gas access regimes, she has been an advisor and executive with economic regulators, governments, electricity and gas businesses, and investment funds in Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, Western Australia and Canada.

Sally has held key roles in the evolution of jurisdictional energy markets and the establishment and ongoing development of the law and rules for the National Electricity and Gas Market. More recently, Sally has been Special Advisor to the Energy Coordinator in Western Australia on stage two of the Energy Transformation Strategy, an advisor on the regulatory framework for the NSW Electricity Infrastructure Roadmap and is the Independent Chair of the Market Advisory Committee, the Gas Advisory Board and the Pilbara Advisory Committee in Western Australia.

Sally holds an Honours degree in Economics from the Flinders University of South Australia and is a GAICD. Sally is also a member of the Economic Society of Australia and a former Chair of Women in Economics Network of WA.

Tim Jordan

Tim Jordan is an economist who has worked on the energy transition in management consulting, banking and government.

Tim has more than 15 years’ experience across corporate strategy, clean energy investment and public policy. He has worked in consulting, at the Clean Energy Finance Corporation, at Deutsche Bank, and in the Australian Government.

Tim has a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Queensland. He also has an MPhil from University College London, where he was a Commonwealth Scholar, and a Master of Economics from the University of Sydney.