Michelle Shepherd will end her tenure as Commissioner at the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC) and commence a new role as Chair of Synergy’s Board, Western Australia's largest electricity generator and retailer.

AEMC and ESB Chair Anna Collyer thanked Ms Shepherd for her leadership, expertise and dedicated service as a Commissioner over the last five years.

“Michelle came to the AEMC with an impressive background in the energy retail space where she managed significant wholesale and regulatory projects and worked closely with governments and industry to help shape the future market,” Ms Collyer said.

“In her time with the Commission, she worked on important reform that delivered for consumers including the new system strength rules, the demand response mechanism, distributed energy resources access and pricing, the Transmission Planning and Investment Review, AEMC’s Metering Review, and the family violence rule change, to name a few.

“On behalf of the current Commissioners, our Chief Executive Benn Barr and AEMC staff, I’d like to congratulate Michelle on her new appointment. We wish her all the best for the next stage of her career.”

Ms Shepherd said she has enjoyed collaborating with, learning from, and working with all staff at the organisation.

“My years at the AEMC have been some of the most interesting of my working life, and while I will miss my time at the Commission, I am looking forward to the opportunities, and challenges, ahead at Synergy,” she said.

In her new role, Ms Shepherd will guide Synergy as it delivers on the replacement of state-owned coal-fired power stations, makes reductions to its carbon emissions, and continues to work in the long-term interests of its customers.

To manage any potential conflicts of interest, she will absent herself from the AEMC’s decision-making in relation to all current AEMC rule changes, reviews and advices until her term as Commissioner ends mid-year. 

Her new appointment takes effect on 9 May 2023.


Media: Jessica Rich, 0459 918 964, media@aemc.gov.au.