VIC: Mortlake Pipeline

VIC: Mortlake Pipeline

The Mortlake Pipeline is a transmission pipeline located in western Victoria. The pipeline is owned by the SEA Gas (Mortlake) Partnership, which is jointly owned by the APA Group (50 per cent) and REST (Retail Employees Superannuation Trust) (50 per cent), an industry superannuation fund.

The pipeline is 83 km in length and has a diameter of 508mm and a capacity of 400 TJ/day. It provides gas from the SEA Gas Pipeline to the 550MW open cycle gas turbines at Mortlake Power Station. Gas is stored at the power station before supplying the Victorian market via the Victorian Transmission System (VTS).

The Mortlake Pipeline is currently a non-scheme pipeline, and is subject to the access regime for non-scheme pipelines under Chapter 6A of the NGL and Part 23 of the NGR. On 3 January 2018, the AER granted a 5 year category 2 exemption under Part 23 of the NGR for the Mortlake Pipeline. 

The Mortlake Pipeline was commissioned in January 2011. It was initially owned by Origin Energy, but was sold to the SEA Gas (Mortlake) Partnership in 2016. 

Pipeline details









Additional Regulation:

Category 2


SEA Gas (Mortlake) Partnership


83 km

Contact us

Title Date Documents
AER Letter to SEA Gas re Exemption Application - Mortlake Pipeline 2018-01-03 Part 23 decision
Mortlake Pipeline map 2018-01-03 Pipeline description
Rotate phone landscape for better viewing