NT: McArthur River Pipeline

NT: McArthur River Pipeline

The McArthur River Pipeline (also known as the Daly Waters Pipeline, Daly Waters to McArthur River Mine Pipeline, the McArthur River Mine Pipeline or MRM) is a transmission pipeline located in the north region of the Northern Territory. The MRM is owned by Power and Water Corporation and is operated by OSD Asset Services.

The McArthur River Pipeline is 330 km in length and 168 mm in width, and has a capacity of 15 TJ/day. It connects the APA Group’s Amadeus Gas Pipeline (AGP) at Daly Waters scraper station with the MRM power station and the McArthur River Mine. 

The McArthur River Pipeline  is currently a non-scheme pipeline, and is subject to the access regime for non-scheme pipelines under Chapter 6A of the NGL and Part 23 of the NGR.  On 7 August 2018, the AER granted a 5 year category 1, 2 and 3 exemption under Part 23 of the NGR for the McArthur River Pipeline and was revoked on 9 August 2019. On the same date, the AER granted a new 5 year category 2 and 3 exemption under Part 23 of the NGR.

The McArthur River Pipeline was constructed in 1995.

Pipeline details






15 TJ/day



Additional Regulation:

Category 2 and 3


Power and Water Corporation




330 km

Contact us

Title Date Documents
McArthur River Map Location
AER letter to PWC re exemption application - McArthur River Pipeline Part 23 description
Rotate phone landscape for better viewing