NT: Darwin Distribution System

NT: Darwin Distribution System

The Darwin Distribution System is a distribution network in the Northern Territory. The network is owned and operated by N.T. Gas Distribution, a subsidiary of the APA Group. 

The Darwin Distribution System is 19 km in network length. It serves the Darwin area.

The Darwin Distribution System is currently a non-scheme pipeline, and is subject to the access regime for non-scheme pipelines under Chapter 6A of the NGL and Part 23 of the NGR. On 13 December 2017, the AER granted a 5 year category 2 exemption under Part 23 of the NGR for the Darwin Distribution System. 

The DCGBP was initially subject to regulation as a covered pipeline under the Gas Code by the ACCC. However, no access arrangement was lodged with or approved by the ACCC. In May 2003, following a recommendation from the NCC, the relevant minister decided to revoke coverage of the DCGBP. At the time that coverage was revoked only small volumes of gas were being transported by the DCGBP.

The Darwin Distribution System was completed in 1996. 

Pipeline details







Additional Regulation:

Category 2


APA Group


APA Group


19 km

Gas Type:

Natural gas

Contact us

Title Date Documents
AER Letter to APA re Exemption Application - NT Gas Distribution - Darwin 2017-12-13 Part 23 decision
AER letter to APA re pipeline Exemptions Part 23 decision
APA NT pipelines map 2017-12-13 Pipeline description
Rotate phone landscape for better viewing