NSW: Riverina Distribution Network

NSW: Riverina Distribution Network

The Riverina Distribution Network is a distribution network in southern NSW. The network is owned by Australian Gas Networks (AGN) and is operated by the APA Group. 

The Riverina Distribution Network’s throughput is 0.69 PJ/year. The network serves the Henty, Culcairn, Holbrook and Walla Walla areas. It was built by AGL in 1999 and sold to Country Energy in 2001. Known as the South West Slopes distribution network, coverage was revoked on 3 October 2003. Coverage for the nearby Temora network (built by AGL in 2000) was revoked through the same process. The pipelines were then sold to Envestra (now AGN) in 2010. (See also pipeline register entry for the NSW Gas Network)

The Riverina Distribution Network is currently a non-scheme pipeline, and is subject to the access regime for non-scheme pipelines under Chapter 6A of the NGL and Part 23 of the NGR. On 13 December 2017, the AER granted a 5 year category 3 exemption under Part 23 of the NGR for the Riverina Distribution Network. 

Pipeline details






0.69 PJ/year



Additional Regulation:

Category 3





Gas Type:

Natural gas

Contact us

Title Date Documents
AER Letter to AGN re Exemption Application 2017 - Riverina Distribution Network 2017-12-13 Part 23 decision
AER Letter to AGN re Exemption Application 2022 - Riverina Distribution Network 2022-11-30 Part 23 decision
Riverina Distribution Network map 2017-12-13 Pipeline description
Rotate phone landscape for better viewing